Skip to main content
Our organisation
The ODPP has specialist legal units, including the Appellate Litigation and Legal Resources Unit, the Public Sector Prosecutions Unit, the Specialised Prosecutions Unit and the Drug Court team. 
banner image

The NSW ODPP was created in 1987 by the Director of Public Prosecutions Act 1986. We are a medium sized public sector agency with about 800 staff – including solicitors, Crown Prosecutors, Witness Assistance Officers, administrative and corporate services employees. Our head office is in Sydney, where the Director of Public Prosecutions, the Deputy Directors, the Solicitor for Public Prosecutions and their legal and administrative support staff are based.

We have three western Sydney offices – in Parramatta, Penrith and Campbelltown – and six offices in regional NSW – in Lismore, Newcastle, Gosford, Wagga Wagga, Dubbo and Wollongong. Solicitors and Crown Prosecutors in our regional offices conduct prosecutions in circuit courts within their region.

Crown Prosecutors

Crown Prosecutors are barristers who appear in court and perform other related functions, on behalf of the Director of Public Prosecutions (the Director).

Witness Support

The ODPP has Witness Assistance Service (WAS) officers in all our offices throughout NSW to provide support and information to vulnerable victims in matters we prosecute.

ODPP Organisation chart 2023
ODPP NSW Organisational Structure