Joint Statement by Australia's Directors of Public Prosecutions

Australia's nine Directors of Public Prosecutions have welcomed the Final Report of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse.

In a joint statement, the Directors said;

"We welcome this landmark Report, which is the culmination of almost five years' work by the Commission and its staff and researchers.

The Directors also acknowledge the courage of the many victims and witnesses who came forward to share their experiences and give their vital evidence.

As a group, the Directors feel privileged to have been able to contribute to the very important work of the Commission.

In addition to welcoming this Final Report, we also acknowledge the Commission's Criminal Justice Report, released in August.

We note that Report's many significant recommendations aimed at further improving the administration of criminal justice, particularly as it affects the victims of sexual abuse.

We congratulate the Commission on its vitally important work, and look forward to contributing to further reforms in this fundamentally important area of criminal justice."

Jon White SC – DPP for the Australian Capital Territory Lloyd Babb SC – DPP for New South Wales John R Champion SC – DPP for Victoria Adam Kimber SC – DPP for South Australia WJ Karczewski QC – DPP for the Northern Territory Michael R Byrne QC – DPP for Queensland Daryl Coates SC – DPP for Tasmania Sarah McNaughton SC – DPP for the Commonwealth Amanda Forrester SC – DPP for Western Australia

Access the Final Report here.

For further information contact:

Anthony Loncaric

03 9603 2603